Parish Council

The results of the 2015 General and Local Elections can be seen by visiting the NFDC website.

Parish Council

The Parish Council is here to represent Village opinion to the outside world and to carry out local tasks which would not be economic for larger authorities.  Council meetings are usually held on the 1st Monday of every month (not if a Bank Holiday) at 7.30 pm in the Danby room of the Village Hall and are open to the public, but please inform the Clerk if you wish to attend as space is limited. A regular feature of meetings is a ‘democratic quarter-hour’ during which members of the public are encouraged to raise an issue or contribute to the discussion.  In addition one or more Parish Councillors can usually be found in the Trusty Servant between 6 and 6.30 pm most Friday evenings if anyone wishes to raise a matter informally. An Annual Assembly is held every year in late March, normally on a Wednesday, to which all Parishioners are invited.  The Parish Council uses this opportunity to review the past year and discuss any pertinent issues with those attending.

The Main Functions of the Parish Council are:

  • to advise on planning applications
  • to maintain the recreation & play areas
  • to set an annual budget which determines the Parish Rate
  • to nominate representatives on village organisations
  • to make note of and pass to the responsible authority for action any matter of general concern to the parish (traffic issues, planning, initiatives concerning youth, public amenities, etc.)

The Council consists of  seven Councillors who are elected every four years.  The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected annually from their own number.  The Council employs a part time Clerk and Lengsthman.

Councillors elected in 2015 are

CHAIRMAN

Cllr. Bill Andrews  023 8081 3349  cmpbill@gmail.com

CLERK

Mrs Polly Osborne    023 8081 2375   clerk@minstead.gov.uk

COUNCILLORS

Cllr. Steve Cattell (Vice-Chairman)   023 8081 3574   steve_cattell@hotmail.com

Cllr. Helen Bennett        023 8081 2358  helen.bennett160@yahoo.com

Cllr. Alan Ferguson        023 8081 3838   alanandfionaf@btinternet.com

Cllr. Georgie Hough      02380 814652  georgiehough@ymail.com

Cllr. Richard Taylor        023 8081 2451   taylorr01@aol.com

Cllr. Dawne Wakelin      02380 814353  dawnewakelin@gmail.com

County Councillor

Cllr. Keith Mans   01962 847322   keith.mans@hants.gov.uk

District Councillor

Cllr. Mrs Diane Andrews  023 8081 3349 diane.andrews@newforest.gov.uk

Lengsthman

Stephen Short