Parish Council

The Parish Council is here to represent Village opinion to the outside world and to carry out local tasks which would not be economic for larger authorities.  Council meetings are usually held on the 1st Monday of every month (not if a Bank Holiday) at 7.30 pm in the Danby room of the Village Hall and are open to the public, but please inform the Clerk if you wish to attend as space is limited. A regular feature of meetings is a ‘democratic quarter-hour’ during which members of the public are encouraged to raise an issue or may be invited to contribute to the discussion.  In addition one or more Parish Councillors can usually be found in the Minstead Club at the Hall between 6 and 6.30 pm most Friday evenings if anyone wishes to raise a matter informally. An Annual Assembly is held every year in late March, normally on a Wednesday, to which all Parishioners are invited.  The Parish Council uses this opportunity to review the past year and discuss any pertinent issues with those attending.

The Main Functions of the Parish Council are:

  • to advise on planning applications
  • to maintain the recreation & play areas
  • to set an annual budget which determines the Parish Rate
  • to nominate representatives on village organisations
  • to make note of and pass to the responsible authority for action any matter of general concern to the parish (traffic issues, planning, initiatives concerning youth, public amenities, etc.)

The Council consists of  seven Councillors who are elected every four years.  The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected annually from their own number.  The Council employs a part time Clerk and Lengthsman.


Cllr. Bill Andrews             07751 064493

Vice Chairman:

Cllr. Georgie Hough        07825 936106


Cllr. Helen Bennett          023 8081 2358

 Cllr. Miranda Causton    023 8081 2151 

Cllr. Jack Smith                07825 511096

Cllr Brice Stratford          07891 630016

Cllr Dimity Pascoe           07801 428113

County Councillor

Cllr. Edward Heron         01425 471466

District Councillor

Cllr. Hilary Brand                                           Hilary.Brand@NFDC.GOV.UK


Diana O’Grady                  07900 008536              


Stephen Short

Recent elections

The results of the District Council Elections in 2023 can be seen by clicking here.

The results of Town and Parish Council Elections in 2023 can be seen by clicking here.